Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry

Dept. of NanoBiophotonics

Am Fassberg 11

37077 Göttingen, Germany

Tel.: +49 551 201 2501 stefan.hell@mpibpc.mpg.de

#### **Education**

1981 – 1987	Diploma in Physics, University of Heidelberg
1990	Dr. rer. nat., University of Heidelberg ( Advisor: S. Hunklinger)
1996	Habilitation in Physics, University of Heidelberg

### **Professional Career**

1991 – 1993	Postdoctoral Researcher, EMBL (European Molecular Biology Laboratory)
1993 – 1996	Principal Scientist, Laser Microscopy Group; University of Turku, Finland
1994	Visiting Scientist, Dept. Engineering Science, Oxford University, UK
1997 – 2002	Head, Max-Planck- Junior Group, MPI for Biophysical Chemistry
since 2002	Director, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen, Germany
	Head, Department of NanoBiophotonics
since 2003	Adj. Prof., Faculty of Physics, Heidelberg University
since 2003	Head, Optical Nanoscopy Division; German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ),
	Heidelberg (secondary appointment)
since 2004	Hon. Prof., Faculty of Physics, University of Göttingen
since 2016	Director, Max Planck Institute for Medical Research, Heidelberg, Germany
	Head, Department of Optical Nanoscopy
since 05/2017	Hon. Prof., Department of Physics and Astronomy, Heidelberg University

#### **Honors and Awards**

2000	ICO Prize, International Commission for Optics (ICO)
2001	Helmholtz-Prize for metrology (co-recipient)
2002	Innovation Award of Leibinger-Foundation
2002	Carl-Zeiss Research Award of Ernst-Abbe-Fonds
2002	Karl-Heinz Beckurts-Prize
2004	Gottlieb Daimler- and Karl Benz Prize, Berlin Brandenburg Academy of Sciences
2006	Innovation Award of the German President (Zukunftspreis des Bundespräsidenten)
2007	Cozzarelli Prize awarded by the Proc. Natl. Acad. Sc. USA
2007	Julius Springer Prize for Applied Physics
2008	Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize of the German Research Council (DFG)
2008	Lower Saxony State Award (Niedersächsischer Staatspreis)
2009	Otto Hahn Prize in Physics
2009	Doctor honoris causa, University of Turku, Finland

2010	Ernst-Hellmut-Vits-Prize
2011	Hansen Family Award
2011	Körber European Science Prize (Physical Sciences)
2011	Gothenburg Lise Meitner Prize 2010/2011
2011	Meyenburg Prize for Cancer Research
2011	Doctor honoris causa, Vasile Goldis University, Arad, Romania
2012	Science Prize of the Fritz Behrens Foundation
2013	Doctor honoris causa, Politehnica University of Bucharest, Romania
2013	Paul Karrer Medal, University of Zürich, Switzerland
2013	Carus Medal of Leopoldina, German National Academy
2014	Hall of Fame of German Research
2014	Kavli Prize in Nanoscience
2014	Nobel Prize in Chemistry
2015	Order of Merit of Baden-Württemberg
2015	Glenn T. Seaborg Medal
2015	Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year 2015 (Start-up), with Abberior Instruments GmbH
2015	Doctor honoris causa, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden
2016	Doctor honoris causa, King's College London, United Kingdom
2016	Premio Capo d'Orlando 2016
2016	Doctor honoris causa, University of Babeș-Bolyai, Cluj-Napoca, Romania
2016	Semmelweis Budapest Award, Semmelweis University, Budapest, Hungary
2016	Wilhelm Exner Medal, Austrian Industry Association (Österreichischer Gewerbeverein,
	ÖGV), Vienna, Austria
2018	Ellis Island Medal of Honor
2018	Doctor honoris causa, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

## **Named Lectures**

2006	Robert B. Woodward Visiting Scholar, Harvard University
2007	Ångström Lecture, Uppsala Universitet, Sweden
2008	Debye Lecture, Utrecht University, The Netherlands
2009	Frederick Seitz Lecture, University of Chicago, USA
2010	David Sears Memorial Lecture, Yale University, USA
2010	University Lecture, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, USA
2011	Lord Lecture, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, MA, USA
2012	Guthikonda Memorial Lecture, Columbia University, NY, USA
2012	Römer Lecture, Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich, Munich, Germany
2013	Twenty-Third Annual George A. Feigen Memorial Lecture, Stanford, CA, USA
2013	Paul Karrer Lecture, University of Zurich, Switzerland
2014	Kewaunee Lecture, Duke University, USA
2014	Niels Bohr Lecture, Copenhagen, Denmark
2015	Boltzmann Lecture, Vienna, Austria
2016	Oon Lecture, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
2016	IET Kelvin Lecture, The Institution of Engineering and Technology, United Kingdom
2016	Rosalind Franklin Lecture, The Royal Society, United Kingdom

2016	Hellmut-Weese-Gedächtnisvorlesung, Deutsche Gesellschaft für Anästhesiologie &
	Intensivmedizin (DGAI), Germany
2016	Fraunhofer-Lecture, Deutsche Gesellschaft für angewandte Optik (DGaO), Germany
2016	Federic S. Fay Memorial Lecture, University of Massachusetts Medical School (UMass),
	Worchester, USA
2016	YIN Lecture, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Karlsruhe, Germany
2017	Lars Onsager Lecture, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU),
	Trondheim, Norway
2018	George B. Kistiakowsky Lecture, Harvard University, USA

### Academies

2007	Goettingen Academy of Sciences and Humanities
2009	Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities
2012	Romanian Academy
2013	Leopoldina German National Academy
2014	Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
2016	National Academy of Sciences (NAS), USA
2016	German Academy of Science and Engineering (acatech)
2019	Pontifical Academy of Sciences (PAS)

# Other Elected Memberships

Since 2014	Membership of honor of the German Bunsen Society for Physical Chemistry
Since 2014	Optical Society of America (OSA), Lifetime Membership
Since 2014	Honorary Member of the European Physical Society (EPS)
Since 2014	Honorary Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC)
Since 2016	Honorary Member of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für angewandte Optik (DgaO)
Since 2017	Honorary Fellow of the Royal Microscopy Society (RMS)
Since 2018	Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

## **Editorial / Advisory Boards**

1995 —	Journal of Biomedical Optics (US)
1997 – 1998	Bioimaging (Associate Editor)
1999 – 2002	Review of Scientific Instruments (US)
2000 –	Journal of Microscopy (UK)
2002 – 2003	Single Molecules
2002 –	Journal of Fluorescence (US)
2002 – 2007	Optics Express (US)
2005 –	Journal of Structural Biology (Guest Editor)
2007 –	Journal of Structural Biology
2007 –	Journal of Biophotonics
2009 –	Journal of Biomedical Optics
2010 –	Biomedical Optics Express
2010 –	ChemPhysChem
2011 –	Optical Nanoscopy (Editor-in-Chief)

2012 - Annalen der Physik

2016 - Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics, PCCP (Honorary Board Member)

## Selected honorary activities in Academics, Society and Politics

Since 2003	Board of directors, Laser Laboratorium Göttingen e.V
Since 2003	European Neuroscience Institute (ENI), Göttingen, Associate Member,
Since 2005	Secretary of the International Society on Optics Within Life Sciences (OWLS)
2007 – 2009	Board of trustees, Niedersachsen Foundation for Innovation
Since 2009	Spokesperson of the CNMPB (DFG Research Center Molecular Physiology of the Brain)
	Goettingen
2014 – 2019	Board of trustees Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies (HITS)
Since 2015	Hector Fellow Academy jury member
Since 2015	Member of the International Jury of the Austrian Science Fund (FWF): START
	Programme and Wittgenstein Prize
Since 2017	Member of the Solvay International Scientific Committee for Chemistry
Since 2017	Kavli Oversight Committee (KOS)
Since 2017	Member of the STROBE External Advisory Board, NSF-Project
Since 2018	Board of trustees Austrian Academy of Sciences (ÖAW)